08 nov ra sf symphony 1

The Santa Fe Symphony’s first chamber music concert this season comes with a new moniker for the series — Strata — which, it says, “evokes the layers of musical conversation seen in chamber music.” The symphony’s concertmaster and six principal musicians, the second violin, viola, cello, bass, flute, and clarinet, team up for Beethoven’s early, lighthearted Serenade for Flute, Violin, and Viola (Op. 25), Mozart’s late, autumnal Clarinet Quintet, and Sibelius’ autobiographical septet En Saga, as well as Zhou Tian’s 2015 Viaje (Journey) for flute and string quartet. See them at 4 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 10 at St. Francis Auditorium, 107 W. Palace Avenue. Tickets are $20-$55; 505-983-1414, santafesymphony.org

Show what you're thinking about this story

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for joining the conversation on Santafenewmexican.com. Please familiarize yourself with the community guidelines. Avoid personal attacks: Lively, vigorous conversation is welcomed and encouraged, insults, name-calling and other personal attacks are not. No commercial peddling: Promotions of commercial goods and services are inappropriate to the purposes of this forum and can be removed. Respect copyrights: Post citations to sources appropriate to support your arguments, but refrain from posting entire copyrighted pieces. Be yourself: Accounts suspected of using fake identities can be removed from the forum.