New Aspen principal

Santa Fe Public Schools has announced Tina Morris, principal at Tesuque Elementary, will be the principal at the Aspen Community Magnet School, a K-8 school, for the 2019-20 school year.

“I look forward to getting to know the Aspen community, including teachers, students and families, then working collaboratively to create a place of collegiality and mutual respect. Together, we can make Aspen Community Magnet School a rich place for teaching and learning,” Morris said.

“It has been an honor to be the principal at Tesuque Elementary School. This unique school is poised to offer students deeper learning in 2019-20. There will always be a special place in my heart for Tesuque’s students and families.”

New Waldorf School administrator

The Board of Trustees of the Santa Fe Waldorf School has named Gerson Pérez as administrator.

The co-founder of the Niño Mágico Waldorf School in Guadalajara, Mexico, Pérez has worked as both a teacher and administrator in Waldorf initiatives in Mexico and Guatemala for more than eight years.

With a master’s degree in business administration from the IPADE Business School in Mexico City, Pérez also worked as an independent business consultant for more than a decade specializing in small company strategic development.

“Santa Fe Waldorf School is both a mature school and a young school,” Pérez said. “Mature, because it has developed into a solid Pre-K to high school, and young, because it still has many growth opportunities.

“My goal is to inspire the community to participate even more, and to bring the school to its fullest potential for the benefit not only of our children, parents and teachers, but of the community we serve.”

Luna Community College names two new trustees

The Luna Community College Board of Trustees has added Julian Jaramillo and Martin Gonzales to the governing body for the San Miguel County school.

Jaramillo takes over representation of District 5 and succeeds Abelino Montoya Jr., who resigned earlier this year. Gonzales will take the spot of David Gutierrez, who also resigned earlier this year, in representing District 6. Both Jaramillo and Gonzales will serve until the November board election.

“I’m very happy I was chosen,” said Jaramillo. “I would like to see this college serve more students. I want to make sure that any student that is interested in attending Luna has the opportunity, regardless of their financial or social situation. It’s important for us to accommodate anyone that wants to better their lives by earning a college education.”

Jaramillo graduated in 2006 from West Las Vegas, N.M., High School and attended Spartan College of Aeronautics and Technology in Tulsa, Okla., where he earned an associate degree in quality control and non-destructive testing.

Jaramillo joined the military in 2010 and served two tours, one in Iraq and one in Kuwait. He was honorably discharged in 2014.

Gonzales is a Villanueva, N.M., native and a 1987 graduate of West Las Vegas High. He worked for the New Mexico Department of Transportation for 22 years and the City of Las Vegas, N.M., for two years.

“Luna is very important to Northern New Mexico and to rural New Mexico,” said Gonzales. “To me, Luna is a much-needed institution of higher learning. Not all students attend a four-year university, and Luna offers a variety of degrees and certificates in both the vocational and academic side.

“We need to continue to work diligently to make sure we keep our accreditation; it’s very important and dear to our students, faculty and staff.”

District 5 is in San Miguel County. District 6 includes parts of Colfax, Mora and San Miguel counties.