Two more New Mexico counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration issued in response to the state’s historic wildfire season.

State officials said Thursday that Los Alamos and Sandoval counties will now be eligible for grant funding through the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

The counties were affected by a wildfire that charred over 70 square miles in the mountains near Los Alamos. Crews are now working on repairs to limit post-fire flooding.

Copyright 2022 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.