Quantcast

Letters To Editor

Letters to the editor, April 24, 2014

On Easter Sunday, there was a very large gathering of people at the Torreon Park on West Alameda Street for an Easter egg hunt. There were hundreds of people gathered and cars parked for blocks.

  • Letters to the editor, April 23, 2014

    Kennicott owes community an apology

  • Letters to the editor, April 22, 2014

    Dear Planet Earth,Your natural beauty inspires and energizes me. Your bounty is essential to my survival. In fact, everything I need, you provide. Thank you.

  • Looking in letters to the editor, April 22, 2014

    House Joint Resolution 104, with a dozen co-sponsors, would repeal the 16th Amendment, which allows the federal income tax. I’m one of a large majority wishing to repeal the 16th Amendment. For starters, the Internal Revenue Service is as intrusive as the National Security Agency. The IRS is one of the most brutal and wasteful departments in our government. The IRS writes its own regulations, then decides how to enforce them. We didn’t need to agree on how to regulate alcohol before we repealed the 18th Amendment and ended Prohibition. We should repeal the 16th in this session. Test the feeling of others and get more opinions on ridding us of the IRS.

  • Letters to the editor, April 21, 2014

    More control won’t help Zozobra

  • Letters to the editor, April 20, 2014

    The governor is not interested in New Mexico’s cultural diversity nor in funding it. Cultural events add taxes to city, county and state coffers. The veto impacting cultural groups included Santa Fe Indian Market, a venue whose artists’ sales help support their families.

  • Letters to the editor, April 19, 2014

    Goodbye, Tecolote. Don’t be gone too long

  • Letters to the editor, April 18, 2014

    This is well-deserved fan mail about the just-ended ski season at Ski Santa Fe. Everyone deserves great and numerous kudos. This past ski season was wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

  • Letters to the editor, April 17, 2014

    The article by Steve Terrell offers the chilling quote: “New Mexico ranks highest among all states for drug abuse as a factor in child abuse.”

  • Letters to the editor, April 16, 2014

    Compromise is the answer to closing Plaza: I propose a compromise to the mayor’s plan to ban vehicular traffic from the Plaza.

  • Letters to the editor, April 15, 2014

    Governor is reaching for frivolous straws: In reference to the article about Gov. Susana Martinez trying to conceal illegal acts behind the constitution ...

  • Letters to the editor, April 14, 2014

    The Santa Fe Municipal Courts is not a system of justice serving our community.

  • Letters to the editor, April 13, 2014

    Christus St. Vincent Regional Medical Center has no competition, but it spends large amounts of money on television and newspaper advertising. These expenditures are particularly strange since the hospital has reduced the nursing staff and demanded that the remaining nurses work longer hours.

  • Letters to the editor, April 12, 2014

    I was distraught to read about Officer José Gutierrez’s encounter with Dawn Bourgeois last week. It reminded me of an incident I experienced when my daughter was a baby. One night, three blocks from our home, a police officer pulled me over for not coming to a full stop at a stop sign.

  • Letters to the editor, April 11, 2014

    Continue to grow Hetager legacy in community: A lot of tears were shed in Santa Fe recently when we lost one of our brightest shining young stars, Amy Hetager. She was only 40 years old.

  • Letters to the editor, April 10, 2014

    Au contraire, Mary Haynie, Santa Fe does need Costco (“Grocery saturation,” April 8). Many people from Santa Fe drive to Albuquerque just to go to Costco. This is because Sam’s (Wal-Mart) is not providing anyone with a good corporate business model.

  • Letters to the editor, April 9, 2014

    Traitor? Snowden is not the problem: When I read or hear of any government official referring to Edward Snowden as a traitor, I think “hypocrisy” and self-serving ignorance.

  • Letters to the editor, April 8, 2014

    Repeated warnings — state of nation is fragile: The recent Supreme Court decision on campaign finance provides another sobering reminder that things go bitter with Koch.

  • Letters to the editor, April 7, 2014

    Add my voice to the chorus of those calling for Gov. Susana Martinez to fundamentally change the management of the Department of Game and Fish.

  • Letters to the editor, April 6, 2014

    The Supreme Court’s Citizens United decision, and its latest crime that gets rid of the existing law that limited aggregate contributions from an individual to $123,200 during an election season, allows one to give as much money as they want.

  • Letters to the editor, April 5, 2014

    While The Santa Fe New Mexican and some of its readers complain about Gov. Susana Martinez’s refusal to turn over travel records and costs for her trips, Michelle Obama was returning from a trip to China, where she, her two daughters and her mother were staying at a luxury hotel suite at more than $8,000 per night.

  • Letters to the editor, April 4, 2014

    Newspaper support of local businesses needed: I am writing to express my deep disappointment in The New Mexican for, once again, failing to support the dedication of businesses in Santa Fe, the entities that generate the gross receipts taxes that fuel the Santa Fe economy.

  • Letters to the editor, April 3, 2014

    Pay attention to annexing strategies: Let’s suppose for a moment that Mexico decides to “annex” Texas. After all, Texas was once a part of Mexico. A large population of ethnic Mexicans would be delighted to actually live in Mexico, so long as they don’t have to relocate.

  • Letters to the editor, April 2, 2014

    Rep. Coll served and taught by example: I am writing to express my deep respect for the life and service of Rep. Max Coll.

  • Letters to the editor, April 1, 2014

    So Gov. Susana Martinez, who serves at the will of the public, thinks her travel records should be protected from our oversight under the Fourth and 14th Amendments to the U.S. Constitution? Welcome to our world, governor, where every phone call, every email, every web search, every aspect of our daily lives is collected and stored and shared in secret by the National Security Agency without a warrant or our express permission.

  • Letters to the editor, March 31, 2014

    As someone who enjoys going to the area casinos from time to time, I find it disconcerting that smoking is still allowed. I feel for the employees who inhale the secondhand smoke that they must endure daily.

Write us! We welcome opinions from the readers. Send either letters (150 words) or My Views (600 words) to letters@sfnewmexican.com.

You can write a letter once a month or one My View every three months. We require the letter writer's name, address and phone number to be considered for publication. We also encourage writers to include a photo of themselves.

Any questions? Call Letters Editor Jennifer West at 986-3063.

Write us! We welcome opinions from the readers. Send either letters (150 words) or My Views (600 words) to letters@sfnewmexican.com.

You can write a letter once a month or one My View every three months. We require the letter writer's name, address and phone number to be considered for publication. We also encourage writers to include a photo of themselves.

Any questions? Call Letters Editor Jennifer West at 986-3063.

Advertisement